Lucky

May 7 will mark the 2 month countdown to Tanzania!   It’s crunch time.  Not only am I trying to raise the last few bucks, but I need to make sure I have all my vaccinations, get a prescription for malaria, buy a sleeping bag and other necessities, buy new camera batteries, the list goes on.  I’m trying to do all of that while keeping my focus on the reason – share God’s love with others.

I have cards in my classroom for the teachers at my school to purchase to raise money for my trip and the education scholarships.  When the kids ask me about the cards, I tell them the background of Cards4Kids, which can be found here!  🙂   It’s easy to let the preparation of a big trip consume you.  There is a lot to do to get ready and sometimes I let that overwhelm me and lose focus.  But God has his way of shifting me back!  On Monday, a 5th grader came up to me and asked how my fundraising was going for my trip and if I was selling a lot of cards.  I told her that I was pretty close to my goal!  She smiled and said “You are going to help a lot of kids over there.  They are lucky”.   Ok Jen, keep it together!

She’s right that I will be able to help others and hopefully start a scholarship fund for the Tanzanian children.  But they aren’t the lucky ones, I am.  I get to travel half way around the world to help those who do not have the advantages I have.  I get to strengthen my faith and learn something about myself.  I get to live among God’s creatures and see his beautiful creation.  Ok, truth be told, I’m not too excited about living with ALL his creatures!  I can most definitely do without the crawly things.

Please continue to pray for me and my team.

Leave a Reply

