Beauty

It is the dry season in Tanzania.  The grass is brown, the trees are bare, and it is ridiculously dusty.  So dusty that I am still cleaning dust from my ears and nose!  Ok, that may have been too much information….sorry!  It was easy to be irritated with the dust, dirt, and thorns, especially when the thorns stuck in your shoes and skin.  It was easy to look around and think how ugly and dry it is.  Just as easy as it was to see the “yuck”, it was just as easy to see God’s beauty!  There was always Maasai men, women, warriors, babies sitting outside the old clinic.   Every time you walked by the clinic you smiled.  The colorful clothing was a welcomed contrast to the dirt.  The smiles on the children’s faces as we walked past the school was uplifting.  The picture below was taken when we were walking up from the creek, which was where we bathed and washed our clothes, and these kids were standing in front of their house.  We stopped and smiled and said Jambo, which means hello.  One of the kids pushed another one in front towards us and he just marched on over.  I stuck out my hand and he shook it.  Then the other kids came running over and started shaking our hands!  It was the first time the villagers didn’t shy away from the white people!  It was really sweet.

The night sky was phenomenal!  Every night we would stand in the field and just stare up at the sky.  The Big Dipper was HUGE and so low that I swore I could touch it!  The Southern Cross was beautiful.  I honestly could not get over how amazing the night sky appeared each night.  This verse would pop into my head each night.  Psalms 147:4-5 say, “He counts the number of the stars; He gives names to all of
them. Great is our Lord, and abundant in strength; His understanding is infinite.”   I found such comfort in the fact that if He knows every star in the sky(and there were billions upon billions!!!), then He most definitely knows me.  He knows every hair on my head and knows every desire in my heart.  Makes me smile 🙂

I guess what I’m trying to say, is that even in the ugliest of places, darkest of times, God’s beauty can be found.  I hope you’ll see some of his beauty in the pictures below!

One Response to “Beauty”

  1. DeStephanie Says:

    Jen,
    Great post. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Hope you’ve gotten rid of all the dust from your ears, etc. (smile)
    Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

